From a Child’s Eyes

Standard

This morning as I was getting ready for work Olivia kept saying, “Mommy, look….Mommy….Mommy, look.” It was 6:00 a.m. and I wasn’t quite awake yet, nor was I in any mood to look at every little this and that she pointed out. I replied, “In a minute, Olivia. Mommy’s getting ready for work.” She persisted with her requests. Her little voice was just so sweet and not once did she lose her patience with my refusals. Guilt set in and with a deep breath I finally turned to Olivia and said, “What is it, honey?” Her sweet little face lit up and she grabbed her eyes with both hands, forcing them to open wide. “What am I looking at?” I asked, bewildered. “My dreams,” she said. “I have a lot of dreams in there.” I turned and looked at my own reflection in the mirror and wondered how many of my own dreams from years gone by were hidden there…lost within my own eyes.

Leave a Reply

