500 Shoes and Counting

Standard

Sunday Lindsay and I went to my friend Annette’s house to help her clean out one of her closets. Annette has a shopping addiction…to say the very least! We spent 4 hours cleaning out just one of her closets and, I kid you not, we ended up taking home 500 pairs of shoes!!! Most of these shoes were never even worn! How very generous of Annette to let us keep the ones she no longer wanted!!

After finishing with the master bedroom closet, we moved to a guest bedroom closet that contained purses. I mean BEAUTIFUL purses!! Annette ended up only keep a few of them and gave the rest to us. Lindsay was thrilled when Annette gave her a beautiful pink Dooney and Bourke bag!! I tell you it was like Christmas for us! When we got home we spread out all the shoes and purses so and Kayley and Lindsay and I all tried them on and put the ones we wanted into a pile. I ended up with 18 pairs!

Kim's Stash

Shoes 004

The original plan was to keep the shoes and bags we liked and take the rest to the consignment store and split the cost with Annette. The problem, Annette smokes and she smokes in her house. After calling the consignment shop we were told not to even bother bringing the shoes in if they smelled of smoke and that there is no treatment to get the smell out. We will see about that! We currently have them all laid out in our garage (because our own house smelled like smoke after an evening with the shoes) and see if with time the smell fades. I’ve tried Febreeze but I’m not sure that will do the trick. Time will tell.

These are my purses, didn’t get pics of the girls:

Shoes 005

Here’s the shoes in the garage airing out…all 500 pairs!

Shoes 001

And other pic of all the shoes and purses that the girls and I didn’t keep. All the bags are full:

Shoes 002

In the coming weeks we will be going back to work on two more closets and, I am told, lots more purses! THEN we start on the clothes! Clothes I think I can wash and get the smokey smell out but if nothing else we should be able to sell them on eBay. It’s definitely been a fun little project and I have NEVER had so many shoes or purses!!!

Leave a Reply

